Don't Let Me Stop You

What the heck, you'll do what you want anyway.

Open Reply to Scott Brown Fundraising Email

Posted by Dan Draney on March 5, 2010

When I heard of the progress Scott Brown was making in the campaign for Senate in the People’s Republic of Massachusetts, I made a small contribution to the effort. Along with thousands of other Teaparty folk around the country, I was exhilarated when he pulled off the stunning upset. Since then I have received the occasional update and request for additional money. Tonight I sent this reply.

I’m one of the small contributors from around the nation who helped you break through against the Mass. Democrat Machine. Like most of us, I was disappointed at your quick adaptation to business as usual in Washington. We don’t need “reaching across the aisle” to agree on more spending of money we don’t have on things we don’t need.

I won’t rule out contributing to your next campaign, but you’ll have to earn it through your actions. Show leadership against wasteful spending. Resist tax increases, even as part of “bargains” over spending cuts. Experience shows the cuts never materialize, but the taxes do.

There are limits, of course, to what we can reasonably expect of a New England Republican today. I didn’t expect Jim DeMint or Eric Cantor, but someone to the right of Collins and Snowe would be nice.

2 Responses to “Open Reply to Scott Brown Fundraising Email”

  1. Uncle Wiggily said

    Dan:

    Hear, hear … with one exception I have quit donating to PAC’s. pols and causes. Last cycle I gave a bit to the NRC and since then I receive almost daily supplications from Michael Steele et al whining for more cash. The have certainly used up my contribution and then some just on the direct mailings they send to me. Same goes for Newt’s boiler room operation called American Solutions – a couple years ago I cut them a small check and I am still inundated with their pleadings on a regular basis. I have repeatedly told both (RNC & AS) to back the hell off, but to no avail.

    The one candidate I still support (in a very small way – I am a geezer on a fixed income) is our 3rd District Congressman, Adrian Smith. I gave a few bucks to his efforts both in 06 and 08, and I get a letter now and then from his office apprising me of his actions and thinking on various current policy matters (which I appreciate); not once have I been asked for more contributions. Want to guess who gets my money this election cycle …?

    BTW, I am really enjoying your (and Ryne’s) renewed blogging efforts – keep it up.

    • Dan Draney said

      Thanks for the kind words, UW. I won’t donate anything to the RNC until they start being a principled operation. I’m not holding my breath on that. I will donate to individual candidates. I don’t regret donating to Brown, either. Just blocking ObamaCare and CapnTrade alone was worth it. I haven’t given up on him, but he needs to hear from supporters when he strays.

      I’ve heard very good things about Adrian Smith from two people who work(ed) for him.

Leave a Reply

 
